The Antiques Roadshow

I am a nerd. I love the Antiques Roadshow on PBS. I have watched it since I was a little kid and thought it was one of the coolest shows out there. I think anything antique is about a thousand times better than anything new; just ask Brynt, when he first started dating me I would drag him around to all of my favorite antique shops in our home town. I REALLY love old stuff.

So its not much of a surprise that going to the Antiques Roadshow has been a big one on my bucket list. Back in January I found out that the show was coming to Boise. Holy Cow did I get excited! I quickly go on the internet and found out that in order to get tickets you had to enter a drawing, and just hope that you got picked. Let me tell you, it was tough waiting to find out but boy was I excited when they informed me that I had been drawn! 981669_10201281591104560_260640234_o

 

There are no children aloud at the event and because it was 5 hours away we needed someone to watch Cam over night. I am so grateful to our wonderful neighbors Kendra and Greg for being willing to watch our little Bug for us, we have been so blessed to have them as friends! ( P.S. the two days apart was much harder on me then it was on Cam, ha ha!)

We left for Boise on the morning of the event, it was so fun to just hang out with my husband. This was the first time that I have been away from Camberlyn for more than a couple hours since she was born, and honestly it was SO refreshing! Of course I missed her the whole time but being able to give 100% of my attention to Brynt was a very nice change.

When we arrived in Boise we went to my favorite place to eat in the whole world… The Cheesecake Factory. I love their food so much, and the fact that cheesecake is my favorite dessert also helps ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a fabulous meal, and we had so much fun! 1053086_10201417354778567_1314984814_o

After lunch, we had just enough time to check in to our hotel, freshen up a bit and then drive over to the event center where they where holding the Antique Roadshow. When we arrived I honestly felt like a little girl at Disney land, I could see all the different people with their items all headed to the entrance and it made me have butterflies in my stomach.

We where warned a head of time that there we would be standing in lines a lot, but we where actually surprised at how quickly all the lines moved, weย  also noticed that we where the youngest people there by at least 2 decades , but we were ok with that ๐Ÿ™‚

The first desk we came to was to look over our items and decide which appraisers we should see, they gave us tickets for each of the divisions that we would need to go to and then we headed in to the main event. In the different lines we were able to talk to people around us and look at all the different things that everyone had brought. It was amazing to see so many items all in one place and to be able to hear the stories people told about them.ย  Going up to the appraisers was a lot like going to see Santa Claus; you wait in line and are beyond excited to get to talk with him, and then you get up there and are so nervous you forget what you wanted to say! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  we saw three different appraisers, all of whom where extremely kind and helpful. We were able to learn a little more about our items and also they taught us what to look for in the different types of antiques we like to collect. Nothing of our was valuable, except for my Dad’s WWII binoculars which we were told are worth several hundred dollars. But the experience we had was priceless and one we are sure to remember for a very long time.

We left the event and had plenty of time to enjoy the rest of the evening, so we drove over to the Boise temple and walked around on the grounds for a bit. It was so peaceful and we loved being able to sit and think and talk for a bit. We then went back to the hotel and got ready to go to dinner. We found a small tempanyaki restaurant to eat at, Brynt has been wanting to take me out to a tempanyaki place for a while so we were excited. The food was amazing (especially the sushi, yum!) and the entertainment was great! It was the perfect way to wrap up a wonderful day.

On our way out of town the next day we needed to get fuel for the truck, and we ended driving all over town to find it. While we searched we happened to find a castle that someone had built right in the middle of a perfectly normal neighborhood, it was awesome! talk about not compromising on the house of your dreams ๐Ÿ™‚

All in all, it was as truly wonderful weekend and one that Brynt and really needed as couple. It is so nice to be able to share special experiences with the person you love most.

Leave a Reply

