A Sign for the Kitchen

I don’t know what I am going to do when Cam stops  taking naps. I get SO much done during those quiet hours of sleep.  Yesterday I made a sign to hang over the dining room table, in the time it took Cam to take one nice afternoon snooze.

I have been wanting to do this for a while now, but we have been refinishing dining room chairs for what seems like forever, and I told myself that I wouldn’t start anything else until the chairs were done because I didn’t want the house to be a complete disaster. So, having completed the chair project on Thursday (hallelujah!) I promptly went to work on the sign project on Friday.

DSCN6314

I wont lie, I really thought this would take longer to make than it did. We are talking like 2-2.5 hours from start to finish (or however long a 14 month old’s nap is).

I started by grabbing some scraps of wood that were laying around, I have plenty because of the pallet nightstands we made a few weeks ago.  I chose three wide pieces for the front and two small pieces to hold them together on the back.

I realize now that I should have taken pictures of what I did to hang it, but in my excitement I completely forgot. It was pretty simple, an eye screw attached on each of the small boards in back and a picture hanging wire strung between them. Easy peasy.

 

Next, I free handed the saying I wanted with a pencil. I am  what I like to call “artisticly challenged” so this was by far the harded part for me. I looked up some fonts that I like and then did my best to make it look pretty. And it worked! So if I can do it, anyone can!

From there it was time to start painting on the lettering, this was a little tricky because the wood was rough but I actually had a lot of fun doing it.

I finished the letters and that was it. No joke. This project was Super simple and its exactly what I wanted for the dining room!

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

